Governors Council

The i-CANADA Council of Governors is comprised of the leadership of Canada’s ‘knowledge-based society’, and brings to i-CANADA the power to springboard the program of creating an Intelligent Nation.

The i-CANADA Governors Council are the selected representatives of Canada’s social and economic transformation.  Comprising Mayors, federal heads of departments, academic executives, and business leaders, the Council of Governors is a “Ministry of Presence”, demonstrating commitment to the urgent task of establishing a nation of Intelligent Communities large and small, central and remote, all enjoying the economic development, job growth and social prosperity now available in the world’s leading Intelligent Communities or Smart Cities.


Picture1The Hon. David Alward Canadian Consul General, Boston
Former Premier of New Brunswick
2Alex Giosa CEO, Alcatel-Lucent
3Allan Thompson Mayor, Caledon ON
4Anne Sado President, George Brown College
5Arthur Carty Executive Director, Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology; Past President, National Research Council of Canada
6Ash Mathur Country Manager, Century Link and Savvis
7Barry Clavir President, Leaders Beyond
8Barry Gander Co-Founder, i-CANADA
9Bill St. Arnaud President, Arnaud & Co
Bill Astana 3Bill Hutchison President, Hutchison Management International
Chair and Co-Founder, i-CANADA
11Brad Woodside Mayor, Fredericton, NB: A ‘Top Seven’ Intelligent Community
12Brenda Halloran CEO, Waterloo Innovation Network
Former Mayor, Waterloo
13Bruce Lazenby President and CEO, Invest Ottawa
14Bryan Boyd President and CEO, BW Boyd and Associates
15Byron Holland President and CEO, Canadian Internet Registry Authority
16Charles Despins President and CEO, Prompt
17Cindy Gordon Founder and CEO, Helix Commerce; Vice Chair, i-CANADA
18Damodar Arapakota President, IMEX Systems Inc.
19Dan Mathieson Mayor, Stratford: A ‘Top Seven’ Intelligent Community
20Daniel Assandri President and CEO, ABB Inc.
21Daniel Peloquin Former President, Schneider Electric Canada
22Dr. Darin Graham President and CEO, ORION
23Mayor Don Clarke Mayor, Berwick, Nova Scotia
24Don Iveson Mayor, Edmonton
25Fawn Annan President and Group Publisher, IT World Canada
26Gary Stairs Chairman & CEO, Stellar Learning Strategies
27Geoffrey Cronin President, Capgemini Canada
28Glenn Laverty President and CEO, Ricoh Canada
29Jim Ghadbane President and CEO, CANARIE
30Jim Gragtmans President, ET Group Inc.
31Jim Roche President and CEO, Stratford Managers Corporation
32John Campbell Former CEO, Toronto Waterfront
33John Jung President and Co-Founder, Intelligent Community Forum
34John Kelly Co-Founder Murphy Business Ottawa and Co-owner Comfort Keepers
35Josh Blair Chief Corporate Officer, TELUS
36Juan Macias President, Schneider Electric Canada
37Kathryn Bulko President, MISA/ASIM Municipal Information Systems Association
38Kevin Ford President, Business Technology and Services, Calian
39Labi Kousoulis Minister of Internal Services, Govt of Nova Scotia
40Larry Simon President, Inflection Group
41Mayor Linda Hepner Mayor, City of Surrey, British Columbia
42Lis McWalter Chair of West Parry Sound Smart Community
43Lou Milrad Public-Private Technology Lawyer
44Dr. Marianne Treschow CTO Ambassador for Scandanavia, former Director General, Swedish Post and Telecommunication Authority
45Mark Romoff President, Canadian Council of Public-Private Partnerships
Maurizio Bevilacqua Mayor, City of Vaughan
46Michael Bloom President, Conference Board of Canada Centre for Business Innovation
47Michael Savage Mayor, Halifax
48Michel Vanier Director-General, RISQ
49Mike Hrybyk President, BC*Net
50Mike Kadar Telecommunications Hall of Fame; Strategic Entrepreneur
51Mike Pascoe President, Magor
52Namir Anani President, ICTC
53Pat Horgan VP Manufacturing, Development and Ops, IBM.  Past Chair, Canadian Chamber of Commerce
patriciaPatricia McCarney Director, Global Cities Institute, University of Toronto andPresident & CEO, World Council on City Data
54Peter Aceto President and CEO, Tangerine Bank (formerly ING DIRECT)
55Peter Lyman Senior Partner, Nordicity
56Phil Kent Mayor, Duncan BC
57Renah Persofsky CEO, Strajectory Corp.
58Robert Hardt President and CEO, Siemens Canada
59Robert Proulx President and CEO, Xittel Telecommunications
60Robin Winsor President, Cybera; Alberta CyberInfrastructure for Innovation
61Rod Shaigec Mayor, Parkland County
62Ron Dembo CEO and Founder, Zerofootprint
63Ross Pellizzari President, Avaya Canada
64Roy Wiseman Executive Director, MISA/ASIM Municipal Information Systems Association
65Sara Diamond President, OCAD University
66Stephen Brunet Mayor, Bathurst, New Brunswick
67Suneet Singh Tuli President and CEO, Datawind Inc.
68Ted Dzialowski Plutus Consulting Group; Co-Founder Trillium Health Care
69Terry Dalton President, ACORN-Nova Scotia
70Terry Matthews President, Wesley Clover
71Tony Van Bynen Mayor, Newmarket